Cheerios Cereal Is Now Gluten-Free!

Gluten-Free Cheerios ™ is coming to shelves near you in September! To help celebrate, Gluten-Free Cheerios ™ sent me their yummy varieties to taste for myself and share the experience with you (but all opinions are my own).

 

Some of my earliest childhood memories are of sharing a bowl of Cheerios™ with my Dad or my Mama slipping us kids Cheerios to keep us quiet during church sermons. Back then we called them Cheerio tranquilizers. And even when we had them for breakfast, I recall sneaking a bit of sugar and sprinkling some on top. But sugar or no sugar, these wholesome morsels are nothing but yummy goodness. One marked difference between the Cheerios of my childhood and the Cheerios of today is that now there’s a healthier (who would have thought that was even possible), Gluten-Free option and they’re even better than the original!

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 11.04.50 AM

The same Cheerios you’ve always loved, but now Gluten-free, they’re available in 5 different flavors to choose from:

  • Apple Cinnamon
  • Frosted
  • Original
  • Honey Nut
  • Multi-grain

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 11.04.01 AM

Move over yellow box, the Frosted Cheerios are my new favorite variety!

With so many different flavors putting a new spin on an old favorite, it’s no wonder General Mills is such a big name in cereal! Gluten-free Cheerios began with engineer, Jim Zietlow, and the discovery that his daughter has Celiac Disease. After 6 years in a development that started with Jim, Gluten-free Cheerios became a reality. Given the fact that 1% of earths population is Celiac and as much as 30% is now avoiding gluten due to it’s various health risks, Cheerios decided it was high time to make a change and now removes all stray wheat, rye and barely grains from their oats supply, which allows those of us who were not previously able to enjoy the old favorite able to again without any constraints or fear of adverse reactions.

For those of you who might despair at this new development over at General Mills, don’t; Gluten-free doesn’t mean a change in taste, look or overall experience, it simply means a healthier version. Cheerios 2.0, if you will. Gluten-free Cheerios were achieved by changing the ingredient sorting process but the actual ingredients themselves remain the same. The only exception to that rule are the Multi-Grain Cheerios due to the fact that General Mills saw fit to include sorghum and millet rather than using wheat and barley. So, everyone can rest easy knowing their beloved Cheerios will indeed be staying the same!

 

Telling the new and improved Cheerios apart from the rest is simple and easy. Come September, when the Gluten-free Cheerios hit the shelves, each box will be marked with the General Mills Gluten-free seal. While some places will begin to stock the Gluten-free options now, they will be fully available in September. The price on the new and improved Gluten-free Cheerio’s will remain the same as well as the same great taste you love but now more people can enjoy it again without fear of a bad reaction due to Celiac or Gluten intolerance.

This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of Gluten-Free Cheerios, however, all opinions are my own.